Quit fooling around with your business networking!

What is the deal with all the LinkedIn SPAM?

I get it. You want recommendations for your profiles. I GET IT!

However, just because you’ve signed up for a new business card online (or 17 other profiles) doesn’t mean I want to recommend you! No matter how much you’re begging me to. Sometimes, I don’t know you well enough.

When sending “requests” for your recommendations, here are a couple of suggestions:

  1. Make it personal. You’ve all got them in your email: “I’d like to add you to my professional network.” Instead, what about, “Hey Todd! I’d like to know (or learn) more about you and your company. I’d really appreciate being connected to you.”
  2. Don’t send invites or connection requests in BULK. Along with making it personal, anytime an email starts, “Gosh I’m sorry for the mass email…” I’m already turned off! Those requests are playing the pure numbers game. Get as many as you can to “look good.” Those folks don’t really care about their intended targets.
  3. Say something interesting! Perhaps, “I read your profile and think we may have some mutual interests, such as having a passion for business networking.”
  4. If you get a connection, send them a note. Thank them for accepting your request.
  5. Be respectful. No matter what.

Until I get your next request, best of success!

Leave a comment